Prep work underway

The cooking for Ukrainian Christmas has begun! I’ve never hosted Ukrainian Christmas before but I felt inspired to go all out this year. Thankfully two of my girlfriends volunteered to help out with the prep work – I’ll admit, once I made the menu I was feeling a bit overwhelmed.

 

We started with the kutya. I’ve actually never even tried this dish but everyone seems to rave about how fabulous it is and it’s the traditional starter to the meal so I decided to give it a shot. Soaked some soft wheat (couldn’t find wheat berries and this seemed “close”) overnight and then boiled it for 3.5 hours. Added sliced almonds, dried apricots, raisins, scalded poppy seeds and sweet, sweet honey.

 

Also got the pyrohy dough and cheese & potato filling ready. My Baba always said the dough rolled better when it sat in the fridge for a day or two.

Holubtsi was a bit more of a challenge. Cabbage head choices were limited: too big or too big. I opted for too big but it meant that it took ages for the leaves to soften. They all rolled up ok in the end though – I also tried using brown rice for the first time (not for health reasons – the stick of butter I added made sure of that – it was just what I had in the house).

So 2.5 dishes out of the 12 are ready to go.


Leave a Reply

