Brunch trial

I’ve got family coming for brunch this weekend and I’m trying to find some dishes I could make ahead so that all I’d have to do is heat them and serve. I really want some sort of egg dish – thought I’d try my hand at some mini quiches and see (1) if they’re any good and (2) if they’ll freeze.

I buttered up my muffin tin and threw in some onion, red pepper, green pepper, and shredded mozzarella and cheddar. In retrospect, I think I should have put the cheese on the bottom so that the little quiches would hold together better. Beat up six eggs and 1 cup of plain soy milk and poured this into each cup (sprinkled paprika on 1/2 of them thinking it would add some nice colour but I actually liked the plain ones in the end). 

Oven at 350F for about 25 minutes. They look tasty – next test will be to see whether or not they taste tasty once they come out of the freezer for a trial tomorrow.


3 responses to “Brunch trial

  • Babygirl

    Oh wow, these mini quiches look amazing. Very unique. I simply love it

  • Becca

    What a great idea. I, too, will be curious to see how the freezing goes. Did the veggies cook up well? I will have to find a way to do this minus the cheese…

  • j

    They did freeze well and they reheat quickly but they don’t look as nice after the freezer – I think I would end up freezing them for “on the go” breakfast rather than a brunch with company. In the end I made a fresh batch Sunday morning and they were nice and puffy when I served them (also held together better with the cheese on the bottom as I had suspected). The veggies go in raw and cook enough while mixed with the egg to be cooked but not mushy. I’d really like to try adding some spinach in another batch….

Leave a Reply

