Moosewood’s Mac & Cheese Lite

Tried out a new-to-me recipe the other day from The New Moosewood Cookbook, one of my favourites despite its lack of photos (I’m usually a photo-required-to-entice-me recipe selector). I doubled the recipe thinking that I would freeze batches of it to eat over the next few weeks but in restrospect I made far too much (I now have 2 large lasagna pans of mac & cheese).

I wouldn’t normally post a recipe from a cookbook online due to copyright concerns but it’s already all over the internet so I figure, why not?

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups dry pasta (I used whole wheat macaroni)
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 2 cups chopped onion
  • 2 medium cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 lb mushrooms, sliced
  • 4 cups (roughly 1/2 head) cabbage, sliced
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp caraway seeds
  • 1 bunch fresh spinach
  • 1 lb cottage cheese
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk or yogourt (I used greek-style yogourt)
  • 2 tbsp fresh dill
  • fresh black pepper, to taste
  • 2 cups (packed) cheddar, grated
  • sunflower seeds (optional)

I doubled everything except the cabbage – even the half head that I put in looked like WAY too much – as is, it barely all fit in my large wok to sautĂ©. In the end, I thought that it turned out fine but would have been ridiculous with the extra. If anything, I would have added more spinach (a “bunch” is such a random measurement). MrT thought there were far too many mushrooms and says that it’s all he can taste but I don’t even notice them – I taste cottage cheese mostly….although I still think this is more of a “casserole” recipe than a “mac & cheese” – there’s not nearly enough cheese to warrant the title.

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350F. Lightly grease a 9 x 13-inch baking pan. Cook the pasta until just barely tender. Drain thoroughly, and transfer to a large bowl. Melt the butter in a large, deep skillet, and add the onions. After sauteing for about 5 minutes, add garlic, mushrooms, cabbage, salt, and caraway. Stir, cover, and cook until the cabbage is just tender (10 minutes). Stir in spinach, and remove from heat. Add to the pasta. Stir in cottage cheese, buttermilk, dill, black pepper, and half the cheddar. Taste to adjust seasonings, and spread into the prepared pan. Sprinkle with the remaining cheddar and a few sunflower seeds, and bake uncovered for 20 to 30 minutes, or until heated through.


Leave a Reply

