Chocolate Chip Cookies

Hi all. j2 here joining the original j in her blogging endeavor. We’re really going to have to work on these code names.

I have a meeting in the morning and decided to bake cookies for the occasion, something that has become a regular occurrence for these meetings. My search for a chocolate chip cookie recipe led me to one of my favourite food blogs: Smitten Kitchen. Although she has a few different chocolate chip cookie recipes on her website, including chocolate chip meringue cookies (gluten free and therefore perfect for a friend of mine!), I settled on these ones. The deciding factor? I already had most of the ingredients in my cupboard. I also opted to double the recipe, thinking that the 20 cookies the original recipe was supposed to make might not be enough for the hungry hoards I’ve been known to encounter.

I took Deb from Smitten Kitchen’s suggestion and toasted my walnuts before adding them to the dough. To toast the nuts, just throw them in a frying pan and turn on the heat. Make sure to stir to avoid burnt nuts. Once they start to smell like roasted nuts they’re done. Or, if you’re me, once you loss patience with the whole nut roasting process, they’re done. Still being impatient, I then threw the still warm nuts into the cookie dough, causing the chocolate chips to melt slightly. Not a catastrophe. The cookies turned out fine. But for future reference, let your nuts cool before adding them to your dough!

These cookies are big on chocolate (and nuts) and light on cookie dough. This was slightly concerning when I began since the dough was pretty crumbly.

Still, I managed to use two tablespoons to form the dough into cookie sized shapes (my usual cookie shaping method). Toward the end of the cookie baking process I resorted to using my hands, and in retrospect this was a much more successful cookie shaping strategy. My first batch of cookies were on the large size, so I scaled down after that and made more reasonable sized cookies. As you can see the cookies turned out great and in the end I had tons of cookies – probably close to 50, though I did not take the time to count. The extras I have stashed in my freezer for another day.

Hopefully everyone, including j, will enjoy them at my morning meeting!


One response to “Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • j

    They turned out DELICIOUS! I can’t seem to get enough of them (damn you for bringing so many to the office!!). For those wondering: they’re a nice crisp cookie super-loaded with nuts and chocolate chips. And highly addictive (you can’t have just 4)

Leave a Reply

